Action Words

I got a thick skin

too thick for criticisms

I hear you, but never listen

this is me at my pretentious best

 

your friends hate me; they say I’m frugal

you heed them not as usual

still do I want their approval?

a resounding yes

 

with more actions than statements

I’ve proved you have no replacement

yet now and again, you make me say it

“I love you, my happiness”

 

once again – election year

characters more eloquent and debonair

campaign grounds respond with cheers

hope puts up a fight; disappointment wins the quest

 

to be inspired by words

religious houses fill to the curbs

a pen is mightier than swords

but the tongue is the greatest.

 

Leave a Reply

